Emerging Networks Laboratory Members


Alan Davy
Dr Alan Davy
Research Unit Manager of ENL
Ph: +353 (0)51 302 970 E:adavy@tssg.org
Research areas: Delay sensitive services, Traffic measurement and analysis, wireless networks.

Industry Liaison

Martin Johnsson
Industry Liaison Officer
Ph: +353 (0)51 834 128 E:mjohnsson@tssg.org
Research areas: Future Internet, clean slate networking, licensing, intellectual property


zeta Zeta Dooly
Research Project Manager
Ph: +353 (0)51 302943 E:zdooly@tssg.org
Research areas: citizen cyber security and privacy, technology convergence & IoT, business innovation and trust, knowledge empowerment, technology evaluations

PhD Students

Mike Donohoe
PhD Student
Ph: +353 (0)51 302920 E:mdonohoe@tssg.org
Research areas: Smart grid, resource management, optical networks.
Runxin Wang
PhD Student
Ph: +353 (0)51 E:rwang@tssg.org
Research areas: Network management, data mining, traffic classification.
Michael Taynnan Barros
PhD Student
Ph: +353 (0)51 302920 E:mbarros@tssg.org
Research areas: Nano network communication, molecular communication
Armita Afsharinejad
PhD Student
Ph: +353 (0)51 302920 E:aafsharinejad@tssg.orgResearch areas: Mobile cloud computing
Daniel Martins
PhD Student
Research areas: Molecular Communication, Bacteria-based Nanonetworks
Bernard Butler
Senior Researcher
Ph: +353 (0)51 845 695 E:bbutler@tssg.org
Research areas: Performance analysis, access control policy evaluation

Adjunct Researchers

Dr Sasitharan Balasubramaniam
Adjunct Researcher
Ph: +353 (0)51 302 912 E:sasib@tssg.org
Research areas: bio‐inspired autonomic network management, wireless sensor networking, and molecular/nano-scale communications

MSc Student


Mohamed Adel Mohamed
MSc by Research student, graduated 2013.
Currently with the European Commission, Brussels, Belgium.
Himanshu Dadheech
MSc by Research student, graduated 2013.
Currently with the Synopsys, Dublin, Ireland.
Christopher Foley
Currently with Primeur, Waterford, Ireland.
Dr Brian Meskill
PhD Student, graduated 2014.
Currently with Donedeal, Wexford, Ireland.
Cathal O’Connor
MSc by Research student.
Currently with Sun Life Financial, Waterford, Ireland.
Dr Julien Mineraud
PhD Student, graduated 2013.
Currently with University of Helsinki, Helsinki, Finland.
Dr Cristian Olariu
PhD Student, graduated 2013.
Currently with University College Dublin, Dublin, Ireland.
Annie Ibrahim Rana
PhD Student, graduated 2015
Currently with Intel Labs Europe, Leixlip, Co. Kildare, Ireland.
Arif Md. Fareed
Software Engineer
Research areas: Formal Logics, QoE assessment